Museum

Museum

The Mitchell County Historical Museum is one of seven sites owned and operated by the Mitchell County Historical Society. The Historical Society was established in 1966, with the original museum located in the Cedar Valley Seminary building, commonly known as Old Central. The mission of the Historical Society is to keep alive an active interest in Mitchell County history by collecting, preserving and interpreting artifacts, books, papers, records, and other materials relative to the county’s history. The Historical Society cares for over 10,000 items at its seven different sites, including one of the largest clothing collections in Iowa.
Visitors will find the new museum located just inside the main entrance to the Cedar River Complex (which houses the Krapek Family Fine Arts Center and auditorium, fitness center, and swimming pool.) Traveling on South 7th Street, turn west into the parking lot at Sawyer Drive. We are in the tall curved building located between the Osage High School (to the south) and City Park (to the north). The museum offers two floors of displays in our handicap-accessible building. The first floor allows each visitor to experience a walk down “Main Street Mitchell County 1855-1910.” The elevator will then take them to the second-floor where they can enjoy many more exhibits as well as a research library and Hamlin Garland Gallery. The displays are often changed to keep visits to the museum fresh and interesting.
For more information on the Historical Museum, please visit
Museum Hours:
Wednesday through Sunday
1 pm to 5 pm
(closed Mondays and Tuesdays)
Museum Phone: (641) 832-2574
    Share by: